howdy folks.

know its been awhile, but life has been crazy busy. so here is just a brief update of what’s coming on my horizon.

To Kill A Mockingbird

Whelp, I got cast ya’ll! The last few weeks of rehearsal have been such a wonderful growing experience for me as an actor. Even though my character isn’t the main one (Miss Maudie), I have grown to love her so much. Having this opportunity has grown me so much as an actor and I’m ready for the public to see how much work myself and the rest of the cast has put in. Now we just have to clear the hurdle of tech weekend (starts at 9:30 am tomorrow morning…)

If you’ve never read the novel by Harper Lee, I highly recommend diving into it. It’s a classic for a reason! The story is so heartwarming, for real. At least watch the movie. Gregory Peck makes quite a handsome Atticus Finch if I do say so myself…

OR, if you’re interested in coming to see GCSU’s production, here’s the info:

Who: GCSU Theater Department

When: Sept. 15-19. Wed.-Sat. performances at 8 p.m./Sunday at 2 p.m.

*it is recommended to arrive at least 30 min before the performance begins

Where: Russell Auditorium, Georgia College and State University, Milledgeville, Ga

Tickets: $13 (can be bought online here or at the Box Office)

It really will be a great show. There is nothing like live theater, so if you’re interested please com support our department. You won’t regret it!

5k

When I turned 19, I was so sick of hearing that it was a boring life year squeezed between the years of 18, 20, and 21 where significant changes occur in your life. So I decided to make a bucket list of things to do while I was nineteen. Things like finish my quilt, take a roadtrip, aaaaand run a 5k.

yikes.

sometimes I like hard things. I like that feeling of knowing that I have accomplished a goal. That I have put in the time and effort and with the Lord’s help I have done something I never believed I could do. Because at this point a 5k seems unthinkable. impossible. This body does not run well. But how do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

I’ve created a schedule with the help of some online tutorials about running a 5k in 5 weeks. oh yea, cuz I only have 5 weeks.

its a lot. but its doable. one bite at a time, remember? The goal is to run it in 30 minutes. I think I can do that. I start Monday and I’ll keep you posted on the progress of my training and the eventual outcome of this insanity on October 16.

writing contest

There is a writing contest being held this month at GCSU and the prize is $1000. And I’ll be honest, that’s a major factor in why I’m entering. But as I started working on my entry, a short story about a true life experience, I realized that it was really to get that experience out on paper. To tell the world what really happened, no matter if it seems cheesy or sappy. And whether I win or not, I’ll be glad that I’ve done that. And maybe have the guts to share it here.

We’ll see.

In other news, I might be getting a job at with the fast-food corperation Sonic, and I have a lovely case of poison ivy.

But life’s generally been swell. I am in a struggle with the Lord at the moment. I’ll blog about it soon I hope. He’s been teaching me a lot about me lately. Which sounds weird but has been completely necessary.

That’s all she wrote.

Night!

