Something you may not have known about me is that I had PCOS.

For those of you who aren’t up on your medical acronyms, that stands for Poly-Cystic Ovarian Syndrome. This can mean different things for different women. Sometimes it means that cysts grow on your ovaries which can rupture at any time and cause some serious pain, for others it means your hormones are imbalanced, sometimes it can affect your metabolism and weight-control, your ability to get pregnant…I could go on and on and on about the symptoms. But suffice it to say that there is no known cure, doctors are only able to treat the symptoms as they occur.

I was officially diagnosed with PCOS 3 years ago, but I had been experiencing the symptoms since I was about twelve years old. I’ve struggled consistently with an inability to lost weight even when diligently dieting and exercising,I didn’t get my period until I turned 16 (probably the best one, haha), and perhaps the most difficult symptom: dark, coarse hair grew on my face on the sides, chin, and neck like a man’s beard due to the amount of testosterone my ovaries produced.

For many years I simply bleached, waxed, plucked it away. I mean, I hope no one noticed. But on the inside I felt so ugly and undesirable. Because even though I was taking hormones and birth control and several other pills to medicate this and my other symptoms, nothing seemed to help.

I prayed and prayed that God would heal me and I had gone to receive healing prayer several times with no change. It was the most frustrating thing. I knew that God does heal and loves to heal. So why wouldn’t he just heal me? Did He want me to stress over periods, facial hair, body issues, and the idea that I could possibly never have children?

(for the record, of course He doesn’t. that was just me being melodramatic.)

So rewind a bit to February 2010.

There is a campus ministry at GCSU called House Church which partners with a church in Milledgeville called City Harvest. I had gone to a service one Tuesday night knowing that I needed a break-through. I had been struggling in general spiritually and felt just a heaviness that I couldn’t shake. That night the pastor of City Harvest was speaking at House Church and to be honest, I have no idea what he spoke on. I just remember that it impacted me enough that I spent most of the ministry time sobbing, my spirit just grieving.

Finally, I went to receive prayer from the pastor (not even thinking about the PCOS) and when I go up to him I ask for just general prayer. And he said to me something like this that floored me:

“I just see Jesus standing behind you with His hand on your shoulder and He wants to heal you tonight.( this of course makes me cry even harder because I had somewhat given up hope to ever be healed) I feel like its something that you have to take a lot of pills for…”

Oh man. I just managed to sputter out a cliff-notes version of PCOS and that yes, I take a lot of pills, and off he started praying for healing. Just a simple prayer, asking the Lord to release his healing and love.

And I’ll tell ya’ll, even after that, I mean, the guy saw Jesus behind me, I had like, zero faith. And the next day I got my period. The next day. And I’ve continued to get it every single month since then, regularly. God is so good, ya’ll!

And because I felt like I was healed I felt good about asking my parents for laser hair removal. I know, major bucks. However, the Lord just gave me favor with them and after some prayer we started treatment. And after just one, the hair hasn’t come back! I feel like this is such a gift from the Lord, that now I have to share it.

I’ve been afraid to tell people up until now because to be honest, I felt like it was a fluke. But there are no flukes with God. He cares about my period. He cares about the hair on my face. He cares that I see myself the way He sees me.

(which I was beautiful even with the hair. The Lord told me that.)

And the reason why I felt like I should share my testimony was because I am done putting out my wool each month like Gideon, hoping that my period is going to come. I am trusting the Lord that it will continue to come. And yesterday at City Harvest, I got a chance to tell that pastor this testimony and he was awed at the power of God as well.

I just want to encourage you today. If you’re struggling with an issue and you have yet to see God move, have faith. He wants to meet you where you are. He cares. His love overcomes death, and it overcomes your circumstances. Trust Him, for He loves you more than you will ever know.

